Moorbey'z Blog

By ENCENO MACY

Solitary confinement is no place for a kid. I know this from firsthand experience. As a young person in the criminal justice system, I was placed in solitary – locked down in a small cell for up to 24 hours a day – several different times before I was out of my teens. And although you can’t see them, I bear permanent scars from this treatment.

I first experienced a kind of solitary confinement in juvenile detention when I was 13 years old. We would get sent to lockdown for bad language or being too loud, or for forgetting to ask permission to talk, get up from our seats, or change the card game we were playing – basically, for acting like kids.

Where I was, the time in isolation usually lasted a few days. I know that in some juvenile facilities, children get locked down for…

View original post 870 more words

About MisBehavedWoman

Artist, activist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.